Content

BBC America to Debut Two Laughers

5/11/2006 4:53 AM Eastern

BBC America is adding a new British comedy import and introducing a second season of another, both in June.

The new show is Spaced, written by Simon Pegg (Shaun of the Dead) and Jessica Stevenson (Smack the Pony), chronicling the agony and ecstasy of two disillusioned Gen X-ers adrift in a world where reality is as subjective as their taste in shoes. Produced by Paramount Comedy and LWT for the U.K.’s Channel 4, it premieres with an hour-long special (two of seven 30-minute episodes) Friday, June 23, at 11 p.m. (EST)/8 p.m. (PST).

Cult comedy hit Peepshow --winner of one of Europe’s top television prizes, a Golden Rose of Montreux --

centers on the inner thoughts of two

socially dysfunctional roommates, Mark and Jeremy, also known as the “El Dude Brothers.” Written by Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain (The Thick of It, Smack the Pony), it’s a Channel 4/Objective Productions production. A six-episode series, it premieres Friday, June 30, at 11:30 p.m. (EST)/8:30 p.m. (PST).

Both comedies will premiere in “The Underground,” BBC America’s late-night zone that showcases adult, irreverent comedies.

September